Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

function for distribution of discrete values (0 and 1)

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

hi all,

I am new to COMSOL. I was wondering if somebody can help me with this. I want to make a function that gives me 20% (by area) distribution of value 1 and remaining 80% area the value of zero. I could not do it using random function of COMSOL. Appreciate your help already.

best regards,

5 Replies Last Post Feb 19, 2018, 2:38 a.m. EST

Posted: 6 years ago Feb 13, 2018, 8:46 a.m. EST

though i can do it in matlab using randsrc function. i can generate a matrix of any order comprising of zero and one according to a probability function. but cannot do it in comsol.

though i can do it in matlab using randsrc function. i can generate a matrix of any order comprising of zero and one according to a probability function. but cannot do it in comsol.

Posted: 6 years ago Feb 15, 2018, 4:31 a.m. EST

i am still stuck on this. if somebody could help it will be really helpful.

i am still stuck on this. if somebody could help it will be really helpful.

Henrik Sönnerlind COMSOL Employee

Posted: 6 years ago Feb 15, 2018, 7:43 a.m. EST

Hi Zahid,

You do not really tell why you cannot use the built-in random function. If you just want a randomized variable over the domain to take the value 0 or 1 with an expected value of 0.2, you can write an expression like

Here rn1 is the built-in random function, but shifted so that it is uniform over the interval [0,1].

Regards,

Henrik

-------------------
Henrik Sönnerlind
COMSOL