Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Simulation of basic surface plasmons

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hey. I am new to comsol and this is my first simulation on it. I am trying to simulate surface plasmons on a IMI interface. I am clueless about what boundary conditions to use.
This is what I did in the draw mode
imageshack.us/photo/my-images/51/drawm.png/

R2 and R4 is the dielectric, R3 is metal. R7, R6 and R5 is PMLs
R2 and r4 AND er value of 1. R3 has permittivity of -6
I have done the sub-domain settings right. What I do not get is the boundary conditions. Should the outer edge should be scattering Conditions? What about the inner edges? How do I implement the continuity condition? What other changes are required? Please help
The output I get is this

imageshack.us/photo/my-images/256/outputb.png/

12 Replies Last Post Mar 7, 2012, 10:17 a.m. EST

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 16, 2012, 6:01 p.m. EST
Hey

1. For inner boundaries it is automatically continuity.
2. Scattering boundary works usually pretty well for mode solver and outer boundaries in the optical regime (I had good experience with it). You dont even need PML if you use it (in most cases...).

3. Your picture of the solution looks like you might be off with your Mode analysis frequency & the search value for the neff. You can find the setting for this under physics -> scalar variables (you can change to wavelength under physics -> Properties. And the neff you find under solve -> solver parameters.

-Niklas