Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Simulation of a superhydrophobic surface using level set method

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am a BE student of Mechanical engineering. My final year project is to simulate a superhydrophobic surface. I have been trying to do that for the past two-three months. After several failed approaches I decided to adopt the following method.

I tried to adapt the Rising Bubble model (using level set method) which is provided with COMSOL 4.2. First I made the whole model as per the steps described. This was simple and gave the said results. Then I decided to exchange the roles of the two fluids. So instead of the bubble of oil in the water layer, I made a droplet of water in the oil layer. I kept all the other settings as it is. Solving this model also gave appropriate results, i.e, the drop of water fell from the oil layer onto the water layer and mixed with it. Next I contemplated that if I simply replace the oil (material) with air I should obtain similar result. Replacing the material to air also meant that I had to change the surface tension parameter to liquid/gas from liquid/liquid. After doing this when I solved the model the solution failed to converge and reached a singularity. Just being curious I solved the model again, but this time I neglected the surface tension between the air/water interface. The solution did converge this time but my analysis remains incomplete without using the surface tension as it is an important parameter for simulating the contact angle on a hydrophobic surface. So the problem lies somewhere with the usage of the surface tension.